Skip to content

Petite Fashion Challenge #11

October 25, 2011
by

No, I haven’t fallen off the face of the earth. I’ve been too busy with bike racing and work to really do any photos of any outfits lately. I did finish my trench style cape, so stay tuned for that soon.

In the meantime, the latest Petite Fashion Challenge is here, and this one was easy for me since I already had to put together a vacation wardrobe on my honeymoon, and thus did not have to put together anything new. Here we go:

For my vacation wardrobe, I need clothes that were comfortable enough for sightseeing in the heat of Rome in mid July, but also be able to do double duty for elegant dinners in Rome, and transfer into appropriate attire for my cycling vacation in France following my week in Italy. I tried to pack only items that were made of knit materials, so that everything would avoid wrinkling and dry quickly after sink washing. I also wanted stuff that wicked sweat.

Here are a few examples of how to dress for Europe in July, when one’s itinerary involves traipsing all over Vatican City or ancient Ruins during the day, then enjoying an elegant candlelit dinner at night. I also included some outfits that transitioned from Italy to Paris, where the temps fluctuated a good 30º F

Day Look - modest coverage for visiting the Vatican in 95º heat


Evening look for an al fresco dinner


Little Black Dress: Sizzle Dress by Athleta, in size XXS
Cardigan: Gap Kids size XL, dyed bright yellow (thrifted)
Sandals: Bebece Soft (purchased in Cape Town, South Africa on previous vacation)
Flats: purchased in a drugstore in Rome

Black Eurohalter top: Terry Precision
Floral print skirt: Terry Precision wrapper (old)
White sleeveless polo: Terry Precision (old)

Military jacket: Old Navy (thrifted)
White/navy stripe long sleeve tee: Ann Taylor XSP
Scarf: thrifted
Skirt: Terry Precision stretch mini (old)
Heels: Callisto (via Endless.com)

Exploring the Pantheon in 90ºF heat


Buying street art near the Champs Elysses after the final stage of the 2011 Tour de France


Dinner in a cafe, first night in Lyon


Last Day in Paris, the day after the Tour de France ended (we found the Astana team car on the street)


In front of the Eiffel Tour, last night in Paris (featuring the Athleta Dress again)

12 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2011 6:14 pm

    I love your outfits and am glad that you participated in this challenge! I love the yellow cardigan and polka dot scarf in particular – they really add a nice touch. Looking forward to seeing your finished cape. BTW – what kind of fabric did you wind up using for it?

    • October 25, 2011 6:54 pm

      I used some wool coating from Fashion Fabrics Club. It’s a thinner coating, has decent drape and I think it has nylon in it. The lining was a Ralph Lauren lining fabric also from FFC. The color of the wool is ‘sand’ (basically lighter than camel, but still a yellowish/brown hue) and the lining is a houndstooth check of tan and taupe.

  2. October 25, 2011 6:58 pm

    I’m really digging your striped sweater with polka-dot scarf! I never would have put those two prints together, but I like it! Great photos! I love how you’re nonchalantly looking chic around town. ;)

  3. October 25, 2011 7:45 pm

    Love your travel photos and you’re so right…the clothes we pick have to be lightweight but can easily transition from day to night. =)

  4. October 25, 2011 8:26 pm

    Your LBD and yellow cardigan combo is really chic. I think it would make a great elegant dinner outfit, too. :)

  5. October 25, 2011 8:50 pm

    Love all the outfits especially the polka dot scarf with the striped sweater, so chic!

  6. October 25, 2011 9:08 pm

    Can I just say how Parisian you look in the scarf and striped top? Thank you for sharing your vacation photos, Kerry!

  7. October 25, 2011 9:24 pm

    Totally agree on how Parisian you look. Great photos!

  8. October 25, 2011 10:14 pm

    ohhhh yellow + your dress=cuteness!

  9. October 25, 2011 10:24 pm

    Really love the yellow cardigan – so fabulous on you! And really adds that pop of colour

  10. October 26, 2011 5:54 am

    I love all your outfits, Kerry especially the yellow cardigan. Sounds like you had a great vacation

  11. November 4, 2011 3:25 pm

    Love your travel looks and it seems like that Athleta dress is very versatile! I love taking pieces like that along with me on trips :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

