Skip to content

Thanks Elle!

March 13, 2012
by

One of my favorite bloggers, Elle of Fast Food and Fast Fashion, helped me out by picking up this dress for me at Forever 21 after I expressed interest in hers (the closest F21 is at least a 20 mile drive, so I usually order from their website, but this dress was not on there). It arrived last week, and I wore it today for the first time. I have to give Elle 100% total credit for this outfit, since she wore basically the exact same thing yesterday. I don’t have an aqua/turquoise belt, so I went without, but otherwise it’s the same outfit.

Yes, this is me doing the ubiquitous Smart Phone Camera in the Mirror shot. I finally got a Smart Phone in December, but every time I try to use it to take outfit pics, they come out crappy. Now that Daylight Savings time is here, there is reasonable natural sunlight for taking photos after work. But hopefully, I won’t have to resort to Smart Phone pics because the husband finally broke down and bought a remote for his DSLR over the weekend. Ideally I will set up the camera on the tripod and take photos every day, or at least when I have good outfit. I also need to take photos of my recent sewing projects (3 dresses completed for my Spring wardrobe, plus a backlog of stuff from the fall that needs to be documented).

As for this dress – I fell in love with the Kate Spade polka dot Jillian dress from Spring 2011, but even if I could afford Kate Spade clothes, they would never fit.

Source: coolspotters.com via Kerry on Pinterest

I tried to find polka dot fabric that was similar to the Kate Spade dress, but never really came up with anything that was the right size and color polka dots or the right drape. I had given up on trying to sew my own version of the dress, when I saw Elle had blogged about her Forever 21 dress. I decided that it was worth spending the $24.80 for the dress instead of trying to recreate the Kate Spade version.

Here’s the stock photo from Forever 21:

Source: realitychicblog.com via Kerry on Pinterest

(You might notice that my photo links are from Pinterest. Yes, I am on there and feel free to follow me or whatever people do on Pinterest. I use it to collect images that inspire me for either putting together outfits or sewing new things).

Follow Me on Pinterest

Fortunately, the size Small from F21 fit reasonably well. The fabric is a lightweight polyester that feels like real silk, and the dress has a nice swingy flirty spring like feel to it. I did not have to hem it or take in the bodice, which I usually do with anything from Forever 21. My only complaint about this is that the waist seam is extremely high. Normally that is not a problem for me, but on this I feel like the dress hangs a bit awkwardly because the dress’s waist is sitting slightly higher than my waist. That seems strange, given that I am only 4’11″. Granted, I do have a “normal” length torso (not a petite length), so rarely do I have to worry about waist seams being too low on me. I can’t imagine how anyone over 5’2″ would manage to wear this dress unless she was literally all legs and no torso.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2012 3:46 pm

    I love the dress on you! It looks fantastic! I did notice the higher than average waist but didn’t think to mention it because my torso is so long (and I presumed only I would have this issue). In any case, I am your girl if you ever want to pick up anything in-store only from f21! :D

  2. March 14, 2012 3:57 am

    I love this dress on both of you! I have 2 patterns that do the bow-waist detail like the Kate Spade dress and have been waiting for the perfect fabric to sew it. I’d love a large pattern floral that isn’t too Easter-looking.

  3. Miran permalink
    March 14, 2012 11:48 am

    great fit! I love the colors. Can definitely relate- I’m a big fan of the Kate Spade look, but price and sizing are not the right fit for me

  4. April 4, 2012 6:49 pm

    So pretty! I love the fit on you.

  5. April 13, 2012 8:04 pm

    The polka dots are awesome and the pink and blue are such fun accessories. Seeing this makes me want to be more fun with color. :)

  6. May 3, 2012 9:04 am

    I’ve just read the Selfish Seamstress’ post on the EXACT same Kate Spade dress!

    Your outfit is very cute as well and hurrah for the hubby caving on the remote :P

  7. May 10, 2012 8:02 am

    Please don’t promote Forever 21. They’re an evil empire of sweatshop pumping, cheap materials spinning, fast-fashion, use and throw crap. I came here from the Selfish Seamstress because I wanted to look at cool sewn stuff but this is just depressing XS

  8. June 7, 2012 8:22 am

    Missing your posts, how are you? Take care, lsaspacey

  9. July 16, 2012 12:42 pm

    I found your blog through the Selfish Seamstress’s blog. Funny, I am road bicycle lover and I have been sewing for 20 years… but I am not a very assiduous blogger… :_) I prefer to be on my bike, in front of my sewing machine or with my family and friends. If you still have a bike blog, I will be delighted to follow it as well. Regards, Anne-Marie from Montreal.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

